Who we are

RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau , Department of Urban Water Management

The Department of Urban Water Management at the RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau, Department of Urban Water Management deals with conceptual issues relating to the planning and operation of the entire (waste) water infrastructure in settlements. Here, the activities of an engineer merge with the requirements and tasks of environmental protection. The solutions to scientific problems combine different engineering and natural science disciplines, also taking into account economic, social and urban planning aspects.

In particular, the department has many years of research experience in the field of urban drainage and the handling of stormwater in urban areas. Important, ongoing fields of work and research are municipal heavy rainfall risk management, the hydraulic performance of municipal drainage systems, and the modelling, simulation, and optimization of wastewater systems.

www.rptu.de

Contact

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dittmer
Dr. Christian Scheid
Jonas Neumann

Amt für Landschaftspflege und Grünflächen

With almost 900 employees, the Office for Landscape Management and Green Spaces is one of the largest offices in the City of Cologne and is responsible for the green cityscape in all its facets. In addition to the care and maintenance of green spaces and parks, it also includes landscaping measures such as the planning of new resilient green spaces and the implementation of ecological concepts.
The focus is always on creating and preserving local recreation for the urban population and sufficient habitats for animals and plants at the same time.

www.stadt-koeln.de

Contact

Benjamin Luchterhandt

Berliner Wasserbetriebe AöR (BWB)

Berliner Wasserbetriebe (BWB), as a public utility is responsible for drinking water supply and wastewater disposal for the 3.6 million inhabitants of Berlin and id therefore Europe’s largest integrated water utility. BWB and its predecessor organisations have been responsible for urban water supply and sanitation in Berlin for 160 years. BWB has a department of R&D with an annual budget of 2.5 Mio € on research. BWB is currently involved as partner or coordinator in 35 projects funded by national and international programmes.

www.bwb.de

Contact

Michel Gunkel

Ecologic Institut (EI)

Ecologic Institute is an independent, academic think tank for environmental research and policy analysis. Since its founding in 1995, Ecologic Institute has been dedicated to improving environmental policy, sustainable development and policy practice. We are committed to mainstreaming environmental issues into other relevant policy areas. We research, support and evaluate political processes on the local, national, European and international levels, bringing together actors from academia, policy making and practice. The results are in-depth analyses and innovative recommendations.

ecologic.eu

Contact

Jenny Tröltzsch
Hannes Schritt
Dr. Ulf Stein
Flora Dicke

Helix Pflanzensysteme GmbH

Helix Plant Systems GmbH offers greenery for a wide variety of projects and requirements. All products and product forms are characterized by the fact that vegetation is established on the most difficult vertical surfaces and can grow and thrive sustainably. These are almost exclusively intensively greened areas that have a high water requirement, especially in the summer months. The Helix plant systems are always part of the urban green infrastructure and thus make a lasting contribution to reducing the heat island effect in urban areas and, with their extensive ecological services, ensure an improvement in the living environment. In order to create a dense network of green infrastructure, functional expansion of rainwater management systems to prevent heat and drought is essential. With its economic activities, Helix can be seen almost directly at the interface as a buyer of recyclable water. The use of drinking water for the systems mentioned should only be necessary in exceptional cases in the event of an accident and is prohibited from an ecological and ethical point of view, especially since drinking water will presumably become scarcer and more expensive in the coming years as a result of climate change.

www.Helix-Pflanzensysteme.de

Contact

Hans Müller

ISWA der Universität Stuttgart

The Institute for Sanitary Engineering, Water Quality and Solid Waste Management (ISWA) at the University of Stuttgart has been dealing with engineering and management tasks in the areas of drinking water, wastewater, water recycling, waste and exhaust air since the 1950s. With a total of over 100 employees, test facilities, workshops, laboratories and its own large-scale teaching and research sewage treatment plant, it is equipped for research, university teaching and professional training.

In addition to improving the cleaning performance of wastewater systems and optimizing water treatment processes, the Department of Multiscale Environmental Process Engineering - until 2021 Chair of Urban Water Management and Water Recycling - develops concepts and technologies for the integrated handling of drinking water, rainwater and wastewater flows in settlement areas with the aim of progressive urban water management , i.e. high supply and disposal convenience with the best possible water protection and sustainable resource and energy management at the same time.

www.iswa.uni-stuttgart.de

Contact

Ralf Minke
Eduard Rott
Ivo Pfaffenberger

Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin

The Berlin Centre of Competence for Water (KWB) is a non-profit organisation for applied research and innovation founded in 2001. KWB resolutely addresses crucial future issues relating to climate change, water crises, digitalisation, sector coupling and urbanisation with committed research, practical solutions and innovative services, in close cooperation with numerous national and international partners from science, business and administration. In addition, KWB promotes active knowledge transfer to experts, research partners and customers as well as to the interested public through public relations work and the organisation of events.

www.kompetenz-wasser.de

Contact

Dr. Andreas Matzinger
Lukas Guericke
Hauke Sonnenberg
Francesco del Punta

Senate Department for Urban Development, Building and Housing

The Berlin Senate Department for Urban Development, Building and Housing forms part of the Berlin State government. It is one of ten specialised departments of the Berlin Senate. The Senate Department for Urban Development, Building and Housing covers a wide range of topics: new residential development, housing subsidies, rent control and tenant protection, promotion of urban development, architecture and urban design, real estate policy and land-use planning, urban land-use planning, the direction of municipal housing associations, our joint state planning with Brandenburg, geo-information, public buildings for culture, science, education, sports and justice, as well as architecture and open space competitions. The Senate Department for Urban Development, Building and Housing carries the responsibility for a social and sustainable urban policy. One of our main goals is therefore the timely construction of new housing that is affordable and climate-friendly. For this purpose, we plan and develop new urban neighbourhoods and fast-track procedures for planning, approval and construction processes. At the same time, we maintain social cohesion through tenant protection and neighbourhood management. We aim for a city where all Berliners may thrive – regardless of income and origin. Diversity is in our DNA. We are a city brimming with possibility, tolerance and openness. A true urban development for the people of Berlin must therefore be based on these values. Our urban development policy goal is an affordable, socially just and vibrant metropolis.

German Website SenSBW
Website Umweltatlas

Contact

Leilah Haag

Berlin Senate Department for the Environment, Urban Mobility, Consumer Protection and Climate Action

The Berlin Senate Department for the Environment, Urban Mobility, Consumer Protection and Climate Action is one of ten departments of the Berlin Senate. It is part of the state government and the supreme state authority responsible for environmental, urban mobility, consumer protection and climate action policy in the German capital. The aim of the Senate Department is to make Berlin healthier, more mobile, safer and more climate-friendly. To this end, it creates, among other things, sustainable mobility for all Berliners, takes care of the infrastructure - from cycle lanes to trains and buses to roads -, clean air, living waters and a balanced urban climate.

Contact

Dr. Jakob Sohrt

StEB Köln

As a municipal drainage operation, our main tasks are wastewater disposal, flood prevention and the management of small rivers and park ponds in the Cologne urban area - we actively shape the water cycles in the city. Our work directly affects all people in Cologne as we are a service provider in the water industry and an essential component of public services. In the course of the projected climate change and its associated extreme weather events an important focus is to develop and apply a sustainable rain- and stormwater management to sustain a safe living environment.

www.steb-koeln.de

Contact

Luisa Schwab

Technologie Stiftung Berlin

With digital tools and smart solutions, urban coexistence can be designed to be more open, worthwhile and sustainable. That is why the Technology Foundation Berlin is committed to digital transformation in city administration, education, culture and commerce – orientated towards the common good and transparent.

Many of our projects are flagship projects that demonstrate the opportunities of digitalisation and profile Berlin beyond city limits. With our studies and reports, we ensure that the latest technological developments are identified early on and leveraged for the transformation process. Our digital educational programmes pave the way for everyone to participate in the transformation and enjoy its benefits.

For a Berlin that is worth living in tomorrow.

www.technologiestiftung-berlin.de

Contact

Ninett Rosenfeld
Marco Kade
Urs Schmidt
Guadalupe Romero

Wer wir sind

RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau, FG Siedlungswasserwirtschaft

Das Fachgebiet Siedlungswasserwirtschaft der RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau befasst sich mit konzeptionellen Fragestellungen zu Planung und Betrieb der gesamten (Ab)Wasserinfrastruktur in Siedlungen. Hier verschmelzen die Tätigkeiten eines Ingenieurs mit den Anforderungen und Aufgabengebieten des Umweltschutzes. Die Lösungen für wissenschaftliche Fragestellungen verknüpfen unterschiedliche ingenieur- und naturwissenschaftliche Disziplinen, auch unter Berücksichtigung wirtschaftlicher, sozialer und städtebaulicher Aspekte.

Das Fachgebiet verfügt insbesondere über langjährige Forschungserfahrungen im Bereich der Siedlungsentwässerung und des Umgangs mit Regenwasser im urbanen Raum. Wichtige, kontinuierliche Arbeits- und Forschungsfelder sind das kommunale Starkregen-Risikomanagement, die hydraulische Leistungsfähigkeit kommunaler Entwässerungssysteme sowie die Modellierung, Simulation und Optimierung von Abwassersystemen.

www.rptu.de

Kontakt

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Dittmer
Dr. Christian Scheid
Jonas Neumann

Amt für Landschaftspflege und Grünflächen

Das Amt für Landschaftspflege und Grünflächen ist mit knapp 900 Mitarbeiter*innen eines der größten Ämter der Stadt Köln und für das grüne Stadtbild in all seinen Facetten zuständig. Neben der Pflege und Instandhaltung von Grün- & Parkanlagen, gehören auch landschaftsbauliche Maßnahmen, wie die Planung von neuen resilienten Grünanlagen und die Umsetzung von ökologischen Konzepten dazu.
Dabei liegt der Fokus immer darauf, gleichzeitig Naherholung für die Stadtbevölkerung und ausreichend Lebensräume für Tiere und Pflanzen zu schaffen und zu bewahren.

www.stadt-koeln.de

Kontakt

Benjamin Luchterhandt

Berliner Wasserbetriebe AöR (BWB)

Seit über 160 Jahren versorgen die Berliner Wasserbetriebe Berlin mit Trinkwasser und behandeln das Abwasser. Heute sichern sie die Trinkwasserversorgung für 3,6 Millionen Berlinerinnen und Berliner und reinigen das Abwasser mit modernster und innovativer Technik. Damit sind sie eines der größten Unternehmen mit langer Erfahrung in der Wasserbranche. Ihr besonderes Augenmerk gilt dem gleichermaßen ökologisch, ökonomisch und sozial nachhaltigen Management des Wasserkreislaufs. Dazu initiieren, finanzieren, koordinieren und führen sie u. a. Forschungsprojekte durch

www.bwb.de

Kontakt

Michel Gunkel

Ecologic Institut (EI)

Das Ecologic Institut ist ein unabhängiger, akademischer Think Tank für Umweltforschung und Politikanalyse. Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1995 widmet sich das Ecologic Institut der Verbesserung von Umweltpolitik, nachhaltiger Entwicklung und politischer Praxis. Wir erforschen, begleiten und evaluieren Politikprozesse, auf lokaler, nationaler, europäischer und internationaler Ebene. Dafür bringen wir Akteure aus Wissenschaft, Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft zusammen. Auch setzen wir uns für die Integration umweltpolitischer Aspekte in andere Politikfelder ein. Das Ergebnis sind innovative Ansätze, umfassende Analysen und praxisrelevante Empfehlungen.

ecologic.eu/de

Kontakt

Jenny Tröltzsch
Hannes Schritt
Dr. Ulf Stein
Flora Dicke

Helix Pflanzensysteme GmbH

Helix Pflanzensysteme GmbH bietet Begrünungen für verschiedenste Projekte und Anforderungen an. Alle Produkte und Produktformen zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass Vegetation auf schwierigsten Vertikalflächen etabliert wird und nachhaltig wachsen und gedeihen kann. Es handelt sich fast ausschließlich um intensiv begrünte Flächen, die insbesondere in den Sommermonaten einen hohen Wasserbedarf haben. Die Helix Pflanzensysteme sind im urbanen Raum immer Teil der urbanen grünen Infrastruktur und tragen somit in Summe im Stadtraum nachhaltig zur Reduzierung des Hitzeinseleffekts bei und sorgen mit ihren umfangreichen ökologischen Dienstleistungen für eine Verbesserung des Wohnumfeldes. Um ein engmaschiges Netz an grüner Infrastruktur zu schaffen ist eine Funktionserweiterung von Regenwasserbewirtschaftungsanlagen zur Vorsorge gegen Hitze und Trockenheit unabdingbar. Helix ist mit seinen wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten hier direkt an der Schnittstelle als Abnehmer von verwertbaren Wässern zu sehen. Die Verwendung von Trinkwasser für die genannten Systeme sollte nur ausnahmsweise im Havariefall erforderlich sein und verbietet sich aus ökologischer und ethischer Sicht, zumal Trinkwasser sich infolge des Klimawandels in den kommenden Jahren mutmaßlich verknappt und verteuert.

www.Helix-Pflanzensysteme.de

Kontakt

Hans Müller

ISWA der Universität Stuttgart

Das Institut für Siedlungswasserbau, Wassergüte und Abfallwirtschaft (ISWA) der Universität Stuttgart beschäftigt sich seit den 1950er-Jahren mit Ingenieurs- und Managementaufgaben in den Bereichen Trinkwasser, Abwasser, Wasserrecycling, Abfall und Abluft. Mit insgesamt über 100 Mitarbeitern, Versuchseinrichtungen, Werkstätten, Laboratorien und einem eigenen großtechnischen Lehr- und Forschungsklärwerk ist es für die Forschung, die universitäre Lehre und die berufliche Aus- und Weiterbildung ausgerüstet.

In der Abteilung für Multiskalige Umweltverfahrenstechnik -bis 2021 Lehrstuhl für Siedlungswasserwirtschaft und Wasserrecycling- werden neben der Verbesserung der Reinigungsleistung von Abwasseranlagen und der Optimierung von Wasseraufbereitungsverfahren Konzepte und Technologien zum integrierten Umgang mit Trinkwasser-, Regenwasser- und Abwasserströmen in Siedlungsgebieten mit dem Ziel einer fortschrittlichen Siedlungswasserwirtschaft, d. h. hoher Ver- und Entsorgungskomfort bei gleichzeitig bestmöglichem Gewässerschutz und nachhaltigem Ressourcen- und Energiemanagement, erforscht.

www.iswa.uni-stuttgart.de

Kontakt

Ralf Minke
Eduard Rott
Ivo Pfaffenberger

Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin

Das Kompetenzzentrum Wasser Berlin (KWB) ist eine 2001 gegründete gemeinnützige Gesellschaft für angewandte Forschung und Innovation. Entscheidenden Zukunftsfragen rund um Klimawandel, Wasserkrisen, Digitalisierung, Sektorkopplung und Urbanisierung begegnet das KWB entschlossen mit engagierter Forschung, praxisnahen Lösungen und innovativen Dienstleistungen, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit zahlreichen nationalen und internationalen Partner:innen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Verwaltung. Darüber hinaus fördert das KWB durch Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und die Organisation von Veranstaltungen aktiven Wissenstransfer in die Fachwelt, zu Forschungspartner:innen und Kund:innen sowie in die interessierte Öffentlichkeit.

www.kompetenz-wasser.de

Kontakt

Dr. Andreas Matzinger
Lukas Guericke
Hauke Sonnenberg
Francesco del Punta

Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Bauen und Wohnen

Die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Bauen und Wohnen ist als Teil der Landesregierung Berlins eine von zehn Fachverwaltungen des Berliner Senats. Das Themenspektrum der Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Bauen und Wohnen ist vielfältig: Wohnungsneubau, Wohnungsbauförderung, Mieten und Mieterschutz, Städtebauförderung, Architektur und Stadtgestaltung, Liegenschaftspolitik und Flächennutzungsplanung, Bauleitplanung, die Steuerung der städtischen Wohnungsbaugesellschaften, die gemeinsame Landesplanung mit Brandenburg, Geoinformationen, öffentliche Bauten für Kultur, Wissenschaft, Bildung, Sport und Justiz, Architektur- und Freiraumwettbewerbe. Die Senatsverwaltung für Stadtentwicklung, Bauen und Wohnen ist verantwortlich für eine soziale und nachhaltige Stadtpolitik. Eines unserer Hauptziele ist daher der schnelle, bezahlbare und klimagerechte Bau neuer Wohnungen. Dafür planen und entwickeln wir neue Stadtquartiere, beschleunigen Verfahren für Planungs-, Genehmigungs- und Bauabläufe und sichern gleichzeitig den sozialen Zusammenhalt durch Mieterschutz und Quartiersmanagement. Unser Ziel ist eine lebenswerte Stadt für alle Berlinerinnen und Berliner – unabhängig von Einkommen und Herkunft. Die DNA unserer Stadt ist die Vielfalt, das freie Nebeneinander der Möglichkeiten, die Toleranz und die Offenheit. Auf diesen Werten muss eine Stadtentwicklung für die Berlinerinnen und Berliner basieren. Unser stadtentwicklungspolitisches Ziel ist eine bezahlbare, sozial gerechte und lebendige Metropole.

Website SenSBW
Website Umweltatlas

Kontakt

Leilah Haag

Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Mobilität, Verbraucher- und Klimaschutz

Die Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Umwelt, Mobilität, Verbraucher- und Klimaschutz (SenUMVK) ist im Range eines Landesministeriums eine von zehn Fachverwaltungen des Senats von Berlin. Sie ist Teil der Landesregierung sowie zuständige oberste Landesbehörde für die Umwelt-, Mobilitäts- Verbraucher- und Klimaschutzpolitik in der deutschen Hauptstadt. Ziel der SenUMVK ist es, Berlin gesünder, mobiler, sicherer und klimafreundlicher zu gestalten. Dazu schafft sie unter anderem eine nachhaltige Mobilität für alle Berlinerinnen und Berliner, kümmert sich um die Infrastruktur – von Radwegen über Bahn und Bus bis hin zu Straßen –, um saubere Luft, lebendige Gewässer und um ein ausgewogenes städtisches Klima.

Kontakt

Dr. Jakob Sohrt

StEB Köln

Als Stadtentwässerungsbetrieb sind unsere Hauptaufgaben die Abwasserbeseitigung, die Überflutungsvorsorge und die Betreuung der fließenden Gewässer und der Parkweiher im Stadtgebiet Köln – wir gestalten die Wasserkreisläufe in der Stadt. Unsere Arbeit betrifft dabei alle Menschen in Köln ganz unmittelbar, da wir ein Dienstleister der Wasserwirtschaft und ein wesentlicher Baustein der öffentlichen Daseinsvorsorge sind. Im Zuge des prognostizierten Klimawandels und der damit verbundenen Extremwetterereignisse liegt ein wichtiger Fokus auf der Entwicklung und Umsetzung eines nachhaltigen (Stark-)Regenwassermanagements, um ein sicheres Lebensumfeld zu gewährleisten.

www.steb-koeln.de

Kontakt

Luisa Schwab

Technologie Stiftung Berlin

Mit digitalen Tools und smarten Lösungen kann das Zusammenleben in der Stadt offener, lebenswerter und nachhaltiger gestaltet werden. Deshalb engagiert sich die Technologiestiftung Berlin für die digitale Transformation in Verwaltung, Bildung, in Kultur und Wirtschaft – gemeinwohlorientiert und transparent.

Viele unserer Projekte sind Leuchttürme, die beispielhaft die Chancen der Digitalisierung zeigen und Berlin über die Stadtgrenzen hinaus profilieren. Mit unseren Studien und Reports stellen wir sicher, dass neueste technologische Entwicklungen frühzeitig identifiziert und für den Transformationsprozess genutzt werden. Mit unseren digitalen Bildungsangeboten sorgen wir dafür, dass alle am Wandel teilhaben und dessen Vorteile genießen können.

Für das lebenswerte Berlin von morgen.

www.technologiestiftung-berlin.de

Kontakt

Guadalupe Romero
Marco Kade
Urs Schmidt
Guadalupe Romero